Why do we do it all ?

Why do you do it ?

• My mommy made me join

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
At college, I put up with all the jazz musicians telling us how much money they can make from gigs, how they are going to become great stars etc... but then they look at us and dont get it - why ? We make feck all, why do we bother ?

I do it for the chicks, but I haven't found any yet. Whats your story ?

Valvecap

Believe me - i have asked myself that more than once recently... but at the end of the day, i am a musician, i enjoy entertaining people, i enjoy the rivalry of banding, and i have met my other (but perhaps not better) half (oh im dead now) through banding - i have more mates in more places through banding than any of my jazz band mates.

Someone once commented to me that people who play instruments are all on an ego trip to a greater or lesser extent - and when i think about it, he may be right... Still trying to decide... he said "i play solos to people to entertain - but also to prove i can... i enjoy it, but i enjoy it cos people applaud the band (and indirectly, me)..."

Comments???

blondie

I can only echo Valvecap, we do it because we love it!!!! What people also don't realise is that the people we associate with in bands become like an extended familly, and you do things together other than rehearse, and they tend to be people that you want to spend your 'free-time' with because you bond so well.!!!

If you get paid for a gig, then that is just a bonus :!:

Valvecap said:
he said "i play solos to people to entertain - but also to prove i can... i enjoy it, but i enjoy it cos people applaud the band (and indirectly, me)..."

I'd like to vote for a few of the options given in the poll.

It is about entertaining and there's no better feeling than giving a good concert or the buzz of a good performance given at a contest (however short lived this may be).