 |
|
| |
| Notices |
Hi Unregistered - just to let you know that tMP is now on Twitter, and we can be followed by visiting theRealtMP - please click here - we'd love to have you as a follower.
|
| tMP News & Announcements tMP News and Announcements |
24.01.2010, 21:34
|
#1
|
Administrator 
Join Date: 21.11.2002
Location: Wem, Shropshire UK
Posts: 7,107
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Musical Director
Nationals Region: Midlands
|
Warning
Hi Folks,
Just a quick heads up - we are experiencing problems with an influx of spammers sending 'virus alerts' to our members via PM's. Unfortunately it reads as if it has been sent from the Administration team at tMP.
I can assure you all that this is NOT the case and we strongly suggest you DO NOT click on this link.
The PM will be similar to the one posted below.
Quote:
Originally Posted by trueLadyAdmin
Dear, Username
A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http: // protectcomp.effectmeds.com/fl...lvecap;tam-tam
----------------------------------------------------
Sincerely, Forum Administration www.themouthpiece.com.
|
If you have, or do receive a PM similar to the one above please report it to one of our Moderators/Admin so we can take immediate action.
Thanking you for your assistance in the above matter
Roger (on behalf of the tMP Team)

Last edited by Jan H; 24.01.2010 at 21:44.
|
|
|
25.01.2010, 00:01
|
#2
|
Join Date: 18.06.2004
Posts: 11,220
|
If this is the virus which I am thinking of, it locks on to the operating system and administrator rights quickly and cannot be cleaned with the usual anti-virus software.
__________________
It's not how you play ... it's the way how you play it!
tMP Banding Boffin Award 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, tMP Saddo Award 2007, tMP Best Picture Award 2008
|
|
|
25.01.2010, 00:21
|
#3
|
Join Date: 18.06.2004
Posts: 11,220
|
To be more specific, you are likely to be infected with a variant of the Win32/Conficker virus. It's been doing the rounds for a few years now, but it seems to be even more sophisticated.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conficker
__________________
It's not how you play ... it's the way how you play it!
tMP Banding Boffin Award 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, tMP Saddo Award 2007, tMP Best Picture Award 2008
|
|
|
25.01.2010, 23:19
|
#4
|
Administrator 
Join Date: 21.11.2002
Location: Wem, Shropshire UK
Posts: 7,107
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Musical Director
Nationals Region: Midlands
|
It's just a simple scam

|
|
|
26.01.2010, 00:05
|
#5
|
Join Date: 18.06.2004
Posts: 11,220
|
Quote:
It's just a simple scam

|
Wise to notify tMPers about it though, as the site has been recognised to link with the virus ...
http://www.freepcsecurity.co.uk/2010...es-january-14/
__________________
It's not how you play ... it's the way how you play it!
tMP Banding Boffin Award 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, tMP Saddo Award 2007, tMP Best Picture Award 2008
|
|
|
30.01.2010, 18:38
|
#6
|
|
tMP Senior Friend
Join Date: 04.05.2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 349
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Cornet
|
Sorry to have not thought about giving notification to TMP staff about this, as well as being a cornet player, I am also working on computer help forums where we have noticed the rise of this type of personal message spamming. I believe the link given in this so called anti virus alert may directly unload some form of malware, though as yet this is unconfirmed. For your safety, if you receive this spam PM, do alert the staff about it and who sent it, but then delete it, do not click on the link.
__________________
Press officer, Darwen Brass.
|
|
|
30.01.2010, 18:52
|
#7
|
|
tMP Senior Friend
Join Date: 04.05.2007
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 349
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Cornet
|
A separate reply to also alert you Roger, and other administrators, to a different approach from the spammers.
They arrive as so called new members, and then post something innocent looking, such as--
"Boy am I glad to have found this site it 's just what I have been looking for"
Please note the link is the apostrophe between the word it's, it usually sends you to somewhere not nice, but for demonstration purposes in my case, it sends you to TMP home page.
It may seem a very obscure means of posting spam, but it must work or they wouldn't do it.
__________________
Press officer, Darwen Brass.
|
|
|
30.01.2010, 21:26
|
#8
|
Administrator 
Join Date: 21.11.2002
Location: Wem, Shropshire UK
Posts: 7,107
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Musical Director
Nationals Region: Midlands
|
Cheers Nev.

|
|
|
31.01.2010, 19:56
|
#9
|
|
Just me!
Join Date: 11.11.2002
Posts: 15,477
Playing Experience: hover
Nationals Region: Wales
|
What I don't understand though is that we have to approve ALL new members before they are allowed access to the forums...!?
|
|
|
01.02.2010, 05:01
|
#10
|
|
tMP Master Friend
Join Date: 01.03.2009
Location: Mt. Vernon Illinois, U.S.A.
Posts: 694
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Musical Director
Nationals Region: Non UK
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornet Nev.
A separate reply to also alert you Roger, and other administrators, to a different approach from the spammers.
They arrive as so called new members, and then post something innocent looking, such as--
"Boy am I glad to have found this site it 's just what I have been looking for"
Please note the link is the apostrophe between the word it's, it usually sends you to somewhere not nice, but for demonstration purposes in my case, it sends you to TMP home page.
It may seem a very obscure means of posting spam, but it must work or they wouldn't do it.
|
I didn't realise what was going on, but I have three such postings on our website in the last two weeks. What is their purpose?
|
|
|
05.02.2010, 19:32
|
#11
|
Administrator 
Join Date: 21.11.2002
Location: Wem, Shropshire UK
Posts: 7,107
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Musical Director
Nationals Region: Midlands
|
Quote:
|
If you have, or do receive a PM similar to the one above please report it to one of our Moderators/Admin so we can take immediate action.
|
Thanks for all the PM's

|
|
|
08.02.2010, 10:32
|
#12
|
|
tMP Prime Friend
Join Date: 11.12.2003
Location: The Mansion, Flugel Land. FLU 6EL (Also known as Drogheda, Ireland)
Posts: 2,445
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Flugel
Nationals Region: Non UK
|
I wish that the people who do this would just "burger off" and go find someone else to bother. I'm not going to click on their links, so they're wasting both their own and my time by sending the messages. I really detest spam. GRR.
Well done to the mods on acting quickly with reported spammers so far! 
__________________
Kirsty Kerr | Drogheda Brass Band - On the bench until mini flugelperson arrives, then we'll see what I'm up to playing!
|
|
|
08.02.2010, 13:35
|
#13
|
|
tMP Posting Freak!!!
Join Date: 24.07.2003
Location: Wigan
Posts: 9,285
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Eb Bass
Nationals Region: North West
|
I don't understand why they do it - they get very little out of it except the possible satisfaction of spoiling it for everyone else!  :
__________________
Solo Eb Bass The Eagley Band, Recent Compo, occasional stick-wagger and Tune Assoc. Leader and General Good Egg.
-------------------------------------
Si me castigare vis, necesse est me intellexisse.
Puppy juggler wannabe
|
|
|
10.02.2010, 19:39
|
#14
|
|
tMP Senior Friend
Join Date: 20.08.2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 302
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Cornet
Nationals Region: South West
|
Ive just had another pm - so this seams to be still ongoing.
alks
|
|
|
10.02.2010, 19:50
|
#15
|
|
Super Moderator
Join Date: 20.05.2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,142
Playing Experience: hover
Instrument: Cornet
Nationals Region: Non UK
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by alks
Ive just had another pm - so this seams to be still ongoing.
alks
|
who from?
When you report these spammers, we can ban them
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|