Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Baritone mouthpiece

Baritone mouthpiece

Can anyone tell me (before I buy one) will Vincent Bach 350 22 trombone mouthpiece fit a baritone?
    Digeridoos are fab and have you tried a thunderstick?

tMP Friend
    Do what I did when I started playing again. Buy secondhand ones of eBay and try them. You can put then back on there and get your money back. Although I have kept a few. I've finished up with a VB 350 nr 3 the largest one they make. It's suits my ugly chops

I would suggest that you try a mouthpiece specifically designed for the baritone, Denis Wick has 2 designs the Steven Mead and the Ultra ranges, and Alliance have baritone mouthpieces. They all fit modern instruments and are probably preferable to trombone mouthpieces, unless you have a particular reason for wanting a Bach mouthpiece.

tMP Friend
    Good advise to look at the ones aimed at the instrument.
    However, I have two SM and one ultra mouthpiece now gathering dust. The alliance that came with my instrument was sold after about a month of use.
    The SM and the Ultra may work a dream on the chops of Steven Mead and other greats of the Baritone blowing family. (Yes I am aware of certain players who have been given them to 'road test' indefinately). But alas on my chops they dont. The ultra is the closest yet to the VB put makes my bugle play so sharp at C# and Eb. Its always going to be me. So I accept my mediocre playing. However, these notes are in tune (well so, so close) with my VB. So I'll soldier on with it. However, I will always look at the new MP's when they hit the market.
    An ex conductor of a band I occassionaly play with was a baritone player of note and always commented on the use of VB when I turn up even if he did may possibly have had input into the Alliance range.
    So I agree, but try everything around.

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs Fruity View Post