tMP Exclusive Interview with Adrian Horn
Webmaster - Sale Brass

By way of an introduction, could you please tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Adrian Horn and I work as the Network Manager and Music Technology tutor at Chetham's School of Music in Manchester.
I started my playing cornet at the age of 8 and the first band I joined would have been Shepley Band when I was 10 or 11. From there I progressed onto flugel with the Holmfirth High School band and cornet with HadeEdge Band where I progressed from 3rd cornet all the way up the ranks via Soprano on to the Front Row. However, by the age of 14 I’d decided that I would love to make a living from playing music so had switched to the trumpet as my main instrument and took up principal trumpet positions with Kirklees Youth Orchestra, Wind Orchestra and Jazz Orchestra, and Halifax Symphony Orchestra.

I went on to do a music degree at the London College of Music where I studied trumpet under Bill Houghton (Principal trumpet of the BBC Symphony) and Nick Thompson (Principal trumpet of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe). Although I was primarily classically trained I had a penchant for jazz and was fortunate to be the Lead Trumpet of the LCM Big Band for 3 years during which time I got to play alongside such jazz greats as John Surman, Pete King, and to trade solos with Johnny Dankworth.

After leaving college I went on to perform on cruiseships and in theatres as a freelance musician, however I soon realised that actually having to play for a living was not nearly as enjoyable as playing for your own enjoyment, and so via a brief spell in Glasgow I ended up at Chetham’s in Manchester.

Are you actively involved in playing a brass instrument with any band, or do you simply undertake the web design on behalf of a band?