tMP Exclusive Interview with Harold Wells
Webmaster - Penicuik Silver Band

By way of an introduction, could you please tell us a little about yourself
Well, where do I begin?

I was born in Edinburgh and have lived there all my life. I am married to Morag (a "retired",thankfully, tenor horn player) and have three children - Adam (8 ), Bethany (5) and Emily (3). I started playing the cornet in the Junior Band at the Edinburgh Gorgie Salvation Army, where I still worship, and progressed to the Senior Band with whom I played until early 2004. I didn't play at all for about 2 years, but then "bumped" into Penicuik Silver Band when they were carolling at Ikea and was invited along for a "blow". January 2006 saw me playing Principal Cornet with them, and loving every minute of it - they're a great, friendly bunch!

Are you actively involved in playing a brass instrument with any band, or do you simply undertake the web design on behalf of a band?
At the moment I'm playing Flugel Horn with Newtongrange Silver Band. There were vacancies at Newtongrange on both cornet and flugel, so after just over a year with Penicuik I decided that I wanted to experience playing at Championship level. I signed with Newtongrange in April of this year, just in time to play with them at the Spring Festival in Blackpool. As way of a "bonus", I find that continuing to be Webmaster with Penicuik helps me to keep in close touch with all my mates there and what they're up to.

How long have you been involved in web design, and how did you first get involved in it?

The Penicuik web site is the first that I have ever been involved in. I started it at the beginning of November last year. At the time I was on the committee at Penicuik, I had been playing around with a few ideas, mentioned these to the committee and hey presto, I was webmaster!

Do you manage/run any other web sites, if so, which ones?