tMP Exclusive Interview with Mark Quick
Webmaster – Hatherleigh Silver Band

By way of an introduction, could you please tell us a little about yourself
I’m Mark and now 36 years young. I play BBb Bass with Hatherleigh Silver Band, I have the roles of Contest Secretary and web designer/webmaster.
I have been married for 13 years to the lovely Marian (The Bands Flugel player) we have two beautiful girls, Jasmin 9 & Emily 6. Our home is in the superb countryside in the heart of Devon & I work as a Firefighter in sunny Torquay.

Are you actively involved in playing a brass instrument with any band, or do you simply undertake the web design on behalf of a band?
I have been a playing member with HSB for 25 years. Before I moved onto Bass I loved playing the Soprano, a position I held for 19 years and still play it when required.

How long have you been involved in web design how did you first get involved in it?I have enjoyed working on my computer for some time but this was my 1st attempt at a website. I took on the job to design it in April 2006 after our Solo Euph who was going to do it became pregnant.

Do you manage/run any other web sites, if so, which ones?
No others. Marian would divorce me!!

What applications did you use to build your site and why did you choose these?
Bluevoda, software and webspace from America, its so easy to use and they have online technical advice.

Please can you explain for us how you prepared and planned for the development of the site when asked to implement this for the band?
I looked at other sites and saw what I thought worked, I made a plan on paper and then jumped in with both feet making the home page and so on.

What content do you feel should be included on a brass band www site?
Anything relevant that can help make your site interesting and able to sell the Bands name. Don’t make anyone stay on a page too long. Always have a good gallery and make sure the site is kept up to date.

Do you use innovative ideas on your www site?