Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How do you hand-write music?

How do you hand-write music?

When you're at school, learning to write, you get told how to form each character and how to hold the pen. Even though I studied music at school I've never had any explanation how to form musical symbols. For instance, how do you form minim note heads, quaver tails, rests, and so on? I've seen all those handwritten big band charts, and it leaves me wondering how on eath it was done - evidently done at great speed but it looks fab.
    I like my regular handwriting but my handwritten music takes ages and doesn't look very nice when I've finished. There must be a "best practice". (and don't reply suggesting I get Sibelius - I've got Sibelius, but sometimes there's no alternative to handwritten...)
    BrianT (fountain pen in hand)

I wish I knew! Actually, I was taught how to do it in school and university, and in music theory lessons, but my handwriting is so awful. I wouldn't say my scores are unreadable, but they can be ambiguous!!! I don't think there is a right way or a wrong way to actually form the note heads etc as long as they are readable.

I've moved this thread here so it will get more attention. For elliptical noteheads, I offset them at an angle towards the right. I also tend to use heavier lines to desigate joined quavers, semis etc. keeping the stems straight and being distinct from the stave lines. If possible try to regulate spacing for beat lengths ... makes it a lttle neater. Hope this helps!
    It's not how you play ... it's the way how you play it!

tMP Banding Boffin Award 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, tMP Saddo Award 2007, tMP Best Picture Award 2008

My Public Domain Arrangements

Quote Originally Posted by brassneck