PDA

View Full Version : What did you start on?

WhatSharp?
02.05.2003, 07:05
My Son (8 years old) had started playing Cornet about 5 weeks ago, however he found it extremely hard going to get a note out of it. Just for the hell of it I borrowed one of the bands rather battered marching tuba's and he can play that really well, he seemed to take to it like a Duck to water. So it looks like I'll have to start saving... :(

I started on trumpet, switch briefly cornet after about a year (when I started playing with the school band) and then onto Sop.

What about all you folks out there?

PeterBale
02.05.2003, 08:01
Started on a tenor horn that was in the school music room (apart from a bit of messing around on my sister's trumpet a few years before). Went to band practice Thursday night and found myself playing with the band on the bandstand in Wolverhampton at the weekend. Moved to baritone then bass trombone, and in due course onto bass, where I now mostly play BBb.

Fishsta
02.05.2003, 08:16
I know you've seen this before... but I started on Tenor Horn...

http://www.fishsta.co.uk/yian08.jpg

Then moved to Baritone, and then Trombone.

Finally, when I went to Lostock Hall, I went on Euphonium, but still enjoy playing Trombone when I get the chance.

Heather
02.05.2003, 09:32
Fishta....you were so cute!.......what happened!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

I started on Baritone when I was 11 years old at High School and have been on it ever since.
I did have a yearning many years ago to play Flugel but that never materialised.

geordiecolin
02.05.2003, 09:44
I started on a very old and battered junk shop trumpet, before moving onto cornet which i played until i was 16. Then I moved onto Bass cos i got bored!!!

Lisa
02.05.2003, 10:15