PDA

View Full Version : Mpeg editing and DVD's

mjwarman
14.11.2008, 12:29
Hi everyone.

I recently got our wedding video back from the person who filmed it, but where he used two video cameras throughout the day, the resulting DVD is in a very confused order! The evening do is before the speeches and the speeches are in the wrong order etc..

I am trying to rectify this, but am having incredible trouble. So far I have managed to rip the contents into four seperate mpeg files, which are now sat on my computer, ranging from 1.3 to 3.5gb. What I really want to do it to be able to edit the mpegs and then burn them onto a DVD so that it plays in the correct order.

Unfortunately, I have no software (or knowledge) to be able to do this and also the 4 mpegs total about 8.5gb so would not fit onto a single DVD. (which I can't understand, because they all came off of a normal DVD, so why are they so much bigger now?)

Does anyone have any experience with this sort of operation and is able to give any advice? I have spent about 2 days altogether using Sonic DVD editor, to no avail.

Please help me, I have numerous relatives banging down my door for a copy of the finished disk!!!

Thanks in advance

johnmartin
14.11.2008, 12:49
Well first of all. Your wedding but possibly his copyright. You may want to check that out.

The software you are looking for is readily available from companies such as Pinnacle, Nero and Adobe.

Nero is good and relatively cheap. Adobe Premiere is the best but very expensive, though you may be able to download a 30 day trial version just to let you get this job done.

8.5Gb should easily fit on a dual layer DVD which come in at about 9Gbs but you would need a dual layer capable burner and associated media.

mjwarman
14.11.2008, 12:59
Well first of all. Your wedding but possibly his copyright. You may want to check that out..

It was my wifes uncle who did the recording, so there are no copyright issues!!!