PDA

View Full Version : How does it feel?

Band Goose
04.01.2003, 23:02
I'm very new to the banding scene and as a consequence my playing standard is still low! What I want to know is how does it feel to walk onto the contest stage and play with a championship section band? :shock:

davidsait
05.01.2003, 09:25
I'd been playing with 4/3/2nd section bands for 5 years before I walked on stage with a Championship Section band. It didn't feel any different. Sorry to disappoint :)

Dave Sait

satchmo shaz
05.01.2003, 17:43
no doesnt feel any different and winning is just as good whatever section !

Di B
06.01.2003, 10:05
Think it depends on the attitude of the band and the MD rather than the section of the band. I have been on stage with a band and you could feel the presence and dedication of all the players around you... you looked up and it seemed as if the MD was standing just a foot away as he commanded your attention so well.... I had never played with so much effort....

Also been with other top section bands on stage and nothing... not a jot....

Ask about solos however and you have a different story! That can get a huge variety of feelings... depending on how difficult you find it to play and the performance you give!

Aidan
06.01.2003, 20:21
i spose it depends which contest stage you are walking out onto :P
i have to say that walking out into the Ballroom at Pontins is quite a different feeling than walking out to the Symphony Hall or Royal Albert!!!!!!

amgray
07.01.2003, 14:52
The bigger name the band the more pressure there is.
There is a great expectation from audiences when the likes of Dyke, B&R, YBS, Faireys, Grimethorpe etc walk out to play. There is an even greater expectation from within the band itself.
You are only as good as your last contest performance and a really bad one can end your time with that band without mercy.
Championship banding at the very highest level is not for the faint hearted.

Heather
07.01.2003, 16:07
Band Goose,