PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse Cornets

trumpetmike
18.02.2006, 01:45
I have just returned from a day in Luton. Not the most glamorous of venues, but there is one place that is always worth visiting, the Eclipse workshop.
This visit was primarily to play the newly released cornets. I had played the prototype last year, but there was still work to be done – the guys at Eclipse have been working hard at these and they now have three flavours of cornet available, distinguished by their bell material – Yellow Brass, Red Brass or a Copper bell.
Before I write any more, I would like to state that the opinions I give here are purely my own. I am not an official Eclipse endorsee, I am not an Eclipse Artist and I receive no money from Eclipse for any word that is written.
I do not promise that you will feel the same about these instruments, there is no perfect instrument for everybody, these are just my thoughts about the latest cornet to hit the scene.
All models use the same valve block, so I will address the valves first – like glass. Very smooth, very responsive and this is no surprise to me – I have an Eclipse Flugel (Copper bell) and the valves have just got better and better since I purchased it (and they were fantastic when it was new).