PDA

View Full Version : Wotcha

Will the Sec
27.07.2005, 01:27
Well, hullo there.

My given name is William Elsom, and I was born in East Ham in London several years before my twin brother/clone, LBB.

I started playing brass when I was seven, but due to getting severe headaches when playing the tenor horn, I was forced to give up.

At 13, I felt I was missing out on the fun my school mates were having at Newham Academy of Music, I asked my mother to ask if I could start playing again. Having gotten some childhood illnesses out of the way, I found playing a lot easier, and soon became adept at playing.

I will always owe a debt of gratitude to Paul Weston, who said I should get a second chance. :tup

My musical education included: Wind band, brass band, brass quintet, jazz band, orchestra, theory. The Senior Wind Orchestra at NAM was a riot under Andy Murray's tutelage, but I developed a loathing for clarinets screeching in unison that persists to this day. So, apart from a short stint in a wind band when I was wooing my ex, I have not played in a wind band for anything other than dep jobs since I was 18!

I've only been with 4 adult Brass Bands all my life, namely Newham, Harlow, Waltham Forest (now East London) and Fulham. I have played everything from Solo Horn to Bass with some success, but my one spell on cornet was aborted because the bass line was weak heading into the 2001 areas. (And because I was rubbish:rolleyes: ) My chosen instrument will always be the trombone, but because I can play pp and do not try to straighten the instrument when it's mf or louder, conductors deem to be too subtle fro trombone and make me play bass. :(