Working Hours

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by savewaterdrinkbeer, Mar 27, 2006.

1. Hi, im at my incedable dull job, back after 2weeks on the sick after my knee operation. and i have heard a rumour that from june by law we are only allowed to work 37.5hrs a week. How true is this??? cause at the moment i work 47.5 hrs a week

2. Steve

Steve Active Member

Im sure there is a working time regulations disclaimer the company can ask you to sign which means you can work above the recommended number of hours as required by your employer within the terms of your contract. If your hours are reduced by 10hrs p/week im pretty sure a salary adjustment would be introduced too.

3. a decrease in wage we are all on low wages as it is. an im a manager

4. Steve

Steve Active Member

Its something you would need to ask your employers, I know nothing of a reduction in the limit of working hour regulations (currently 48hours per week unless disclaimer is signed) but its not the sort of thing I listen out for so could well be wrong as normal.

HERE is the DTI's current regulations

5. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

Having just transferred our employment from one company to another, we've just had to sign fresh exemption forms to enable us to work more than the statutory number of hours. If I remember correctly, there was one option to cover the occasional week, and a different one if, as in our case, you regularly work more hours. Whilst it would be nice to have more free time, as has already been said it is most unlikely that wages would be increased to make up the difference, and as someone currently on a 60-hour week, there would be quite a gap to bridge!

6. Jamie

Jamie Member