Who's chair is it?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Goodnight Irene, Dec 6, 2006.

1. Goodnight Irene

Goodnight Irene New Member

How should a conductor or band decide on who should sit where and do other members think that they are sitting according to their capabilities or perhaps they see themselves as being better than the principle in that section?
  2. I think they should probably be arranged by technical ability, so that if you have a difficult solo or duet, the players near the top end can play it and the tutti players can take a rest.

But technical ability doesn't always mean that a player sounds better than someone who is less able. On pieces where less technical ability is required, and everyone is capable of playing it, you might have a situation where the tutti players sound better than the top players and add a valuable sense of style to the piece.

Caveat: I have no experience in this, except my own thoughts.
  3. Pythagoras

Pythagoras Active Member

Got to be up to the conductor. He's the musical director, and where people sit is part of that.
  4. sparkling_quavers

sparkling_quavers Active Member

It may not just be to do with techincal ability. You may have a better player in a tutti seat due to the fact they have limited attendance. You may have a player given the chance to improve by being given a promotion. You may have better technical players in support positions to improve a section for the overall strength/sound of the band. It's the choice of the MD in all circumstances.
  5. Ipswich trom

Ipswich trom Member