Who should sack a player?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by claire co-op crewe, Sep 28, 2006.

1. claire co-op crewe

claire co-op crewe New Member

I am relatively new to playing in a brass band and am quite shocked at the way players are 'dispensed' with! :eek:
    What is the correct way to sack a playing member of a band and who should do it? :confused:
  2. 1st Position

1st Position Member

I suppose it all depends on the Band, and how they operate, and for what offence the player is being sacked for. I think really, if it is for musical reasons then the MD should do the job, for anything else either the committee, or perhaps the Band Sergeant.
  3. Bass Man

Bass Man Active Member

Many bands operate in different ways and nearly all of them have a different way of dealing with this sort of thing. I would say at the end of the day though that it should be the MD who should deal with the individual in question, no matter what the reason for sacking them.
  4. davidwalton

davidwalton Member

Unless the MD owns and runs the Band, it should be the Band committee that decide this. It is then for one of the committee officers to do the deed.

The MD is generally an emplyee of a Band, not the Manager.
  5. GingerMaestro

GingerMaestro Active Member

I think it very much depends on the circumstances of the offence.

but either way if the band has a committee then even the MD cannot just sack a player he can suggest to the committee that a plyer be dismissed but not actually do it his/herself
  6. Nikki T

Nikki T Member

The MD and committee should make a joint decision and notify the player both verbally and in writing. However in some bands particularly the upper sections the MD has the right to sack people and this can cause problems with personality clashes and potential issues.
  7. yorkie19

yorkie19 Active Member

Not in any band I've played in.
  8. TheMusicMan

TheMusicMan tMP Founder Staff Member

Interesting thread....