Whit Friday: A Cornish Perspective.

Discussion in 'Articles and Interviews' started by sugarandspice, Jul 15, 2006.

1. sugarandspice

sugarandspice Active Member

Well well well, a month on from what can only be described as an unforgettable weekend, and I think I can finally say I have recovered! The truth being of course that as a student I now have nothing constructive to do with my time for the next ten weeks so thought I’d write a few words to reflect upon my Whit Friday experiences, from the perspective of a Whit Friday virgin!

The day began very early, all too early in fact, with Bryony and Liz setting off from Cornwall at 6 am, heading straight for Exeter, first port of call being to pick up Kelly! (that’s me!) We had our driver, and what a great driver she was too, our map reader, who did an excellent job I must say, not getting us lost at all (I hope you are reading this Craig and Steve!) and then there was Liz dishing out the Red Bull and Pro-plus, throw in a couple of brass band CD’s and we had ourselves a road trip!

7 hours later, 350 miles had been covered and a considerable amount of lorry driver “eye flirting” had been achieved across 4 motorways (these new fangled contraptions that have yet to reach Cornwall…) and, we arrived, all in one piece at the Hotel.

Meeting the man himself Mr Roger Thorne and the small crowd of tmp’ers gathered around him almost seemed nerve wracking at first, though it wasn’t long before talk of Cornish Pasties made us feel at home and we were set for the rest of the afternoon, though nothing could have prepared us for the some what extravagant entry of Tmp’s very own Supersop in that infamous “quiet” shirt of his!