Which Union?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by euph77, Feb 29, 2012.

1. euph77

euph77 Member

I have been teaching full time for over 6 years now and for all of that time I have mainly been employed (with some self employment / private teaching, too). This week I have found out that my local authority is to cease ono-to-one and small group tuition in favour of whole class teaching in the new academic year and unfortunately that means as of September I will no longer be working for them; I will probably continue teaching on a self-employed basis. It seems apparent to me that I should become a member of a union which can offer the support of public liability and much more.

But which one? :confused:

Any thoughts on the matter would be most appreciated, thank you.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Union
    class teaching
    matter
    private teaching
    favour of
  3. GJG

GJG Well-Known Member

Not entirely sure why you say that? I'm not 100% sure of my ground here, but my understanding is that in Surrey at any rate, the Peri's are still responsible for the Wider Op's class teaching ... ???

4. euph77

euph77 Member

Yes, and that will be the case here, but I am not involved in wider opps. I have been offered, but prefer individual tuition. I hope to be able to continue with my current pupils but as a self employed teacher. The schools I have spoken to so far seem very keen to do likewise.

5. fartycat

fartycat Member

Dorset have gone down the same route. I can't understand it myself as most schools specifically want instrumental tuition but Dorset now won't provide it, just classroom based wider ops. It will gradually spell the end of the county ensembles as Dorset will now not have an army of staff recruiting students into the orchestras.