Which cornet should i buy?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by vonny, Sep 2, 2005.

1. vonny

vonny Member

I am thinking about buying myself a cornet, but as i am unsure of which particular one i should go for, I need your help - please.

There are so many different types around, and because in the past i haven't had the opportunity to purchase my own i honestly don't know where to begin. I would be very grateful if any suggestions could be made about which one i should buy, and whether or not i should opt for a new or used one...

P.S i am not a complete novice as i know that the jupiter ones aren't too clever ;)

Thank you,

Yvonne x

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Yvonne x
    opportunity
    complete novice
    suggestions
    different types
  3. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

It may help if you can give some indication of the price range you are able to consider.

4. vonny

vonny Member

Oh yeah - thank you for pointing that out peter :oops:

I was thinking around the £500 mark either under or over

Yvonne x

5. Crazysop

Crazysop Member

Hi Vonny I picked up a belting Soveriegn Bb cornet in 2000, second hand, it was £500. It absolubtely fab!! It's all going to depend on your price range though. I would definitely try before you buy too as what suits one person may not suit another. Good luck!

6. eckyboy

eckyboy Member

The Maestro is getting cheaper second hand, I used to play one and thought it was superb.

7. Moy

Moy Active Member

I always tell my cornet players if they have a naturally big sound and want to thin it down a bit get a Maestro and if they have thin sound and want to fatten it buy a Sovereign.

But who am I only but a failed cornet player - :(

8. trumpetmike

trumpetmike Active Member

Play everything and play what works for you.

If it is a Sovereign, play a Sovereign
    If it is a Yamaha, play a Yamaha
    If it is a Getzen, play a Getzen