What to do with a smaller band?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Cornet23, Jun 7, 2016.

1. Cornet23

Cornet23 Member

I conduct a lower section band, and we often have multiple players missing for rehearsals (though always a full band for contests - eventually!)

If we cancelled every rehearsal when numbers were low we'd never get anywhere..

So I was wondering whether anyone had any ideas about what I could do with a smaller band?

I'm relatively new to conducting, and didn't realise just how annoying it was to have big gaping holes in music!

Any help appreciated :)
  2. simonbassbone

simonbassbone Member

A lot depends on whether it's the same gaps every week and you (like a lot of bands ) don't have a full band or if you have a full group but struggle to get them all to the same rehearsal.
    If the first try looking at music written for 10 piece or similar. The SA used to do a smaller band series (Triumph Series I think it's called).
    If the latter you need to make rehearsals so good no one wants to miss them!
  3. Cornet23

Cornet23 Member

Thanks! I do of course try to make rehearsals as good as possible. We have two seats empty, but it's because we have students who have assignments and exams, people with children, and a few people who have jobs with funny hours so they can't make every rehearsal.

We do have some 10-piece stuff but not all that much, so I will look into the series that you mentioned, thank you!
  4. Andrew Norman

Andrew Norman Member

I used to have the same problem having taken over a band which was down to about 10 regular players.
    The result was www.pdfbrass.com - most of the music will work with small and irregular bands.
    Please take a look at what's on offer and feel free to email or call for advice on what's suitable for you.
    You miight even get a free sample !
  5. Cornet23

Cornet23 Member

That's brilliant, thank you so much for your help. I will be in touch!
  6. Andrew Norman

Andrew Norman Member