What do I look out for when using slides and growls?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Andreas, Sep 13, 2011.

1. Andreas

Andreas New Member

Maybe a weird question to ask, but because I am a composer and not a brass player, I don't have the change to try out these things myself. I am working on a piece for orchestra that includes 2 tenor trombones, 1 bass trombone and 1 tuba. I would like to use slides on all and a growl on the tuba. Are there things that I should look out for that would make it unplayable? Maybe the range or registers?

2. nethers

nethers Active Member

Can't help you with the tubas, but there is an ok explanation of where the glissandi on trombone break here:

A lot of us use gliss as an exercise to expand range, so don't be scared to push it a bit, as long as the first note is in a sensible range for the ability of player you will be working with. There are a lot more options if the trombones have triggers, if you're really keen I'll write something a bit more comprehensive.

Have fun!
  3. Andreas

Andreas New Member

Thanks for the info. I will have a look at the link. Here is btw moment in the score where I use the gliss and growls, maybe it's easier when you see the score itself. It's the first time I use these FX so I want to be sure I do it correctly.

4. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

Some of those work, some of them don't. The tuba cannot gliss (slide) like the trombones can - valves make discrete pitch changes where the trombone slide can make continuous pitch changes. It can fake a continuous pitch change by half-valving, but the effect is relatively very weak when compared to the effect of the three trombones glissing together. Better to leave the tuba out of those glisses altogether, or just give it the first and last notes of the gliss.