What are you reading at the moment?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Kerwintootle, Jul 24, 2008.

1. Kerwintootle

Kerwintootle Member

Hi,

I had a quick trawl to see if anyone else had posted this, maybe I'm stupid but I couldn't find it.

The Summer holidays are here and for me it is a yawning chasm of six weeks (I'm a teacher and mum), my kids are more than content to play out with their friends than to hang around with their old bag of a mum so I'm getting bored already.

I've just finished a great book called, 'The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time' and I wanted to know of your choices of 'must read' books to while away the Summer.

Anything you can recommend?

Alex

2. Laserbeam bass

Laserbeam bass Active Member

I recently read a book by a newish author called Lee Weekes called The Trophy Taker. I only picked it up for something to read on holiday, assuming to it to be another one of these who nicked the Holy Grail, or Will the (Insert your own ancient /less than modern relic here) save the world from a fate worse than a fate worse that death etc, ad infinitum, but to my surprise (failing to read the synopsis on the back) was a novel about a Eurasian Hong Kong Detective, on the trail of a serial killer who takes something form the body, and keeps it. It gives a pretty simple but effective explanation of how Hong Kong is now it is under Chinese rule, and the last vestiges of the colonials who are now outstaying their welcome, and want to go home.

I have given very little of the plot away, but would recommend it for a bit of light reading in the rainy days that are sure to pass for an British Summer.

If you take the opportunity to read it and find it sufficient for the time of year Lee Weekes is continuing with the main character, but sending him to London. This will be called the Trafficked, and I will be buying it when it comes out.

Last edited: Jul 24, 2008
  3. leisa

leisa Active Member