Welsh Regional Championships - 2010

Discussion in 'The Adjudicators' Comments' started by Di, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. Di

    Di Active Member

    Welsh Regional Championships
    Championship Section

    Sunday 21st March 2010
    Draw 12:00, commence following 4th Section
    Brangwyn Hall, Swansea
    English Heritage, George Lloyd
    Adjudicator: Malcolm Brownbill

    Beaumaris, G. Evans
    BTM, T. Davoren
    Burry Port Town, C. Roberts
    Cory, Dr. R. Childs
    Cwmaman Institute, G. O’Connor
    Northop, T. Wyss
    Penclawdd Brass, D.A. Small
    Point of Ayr Colliery, J. Hinckley
    Tongwynlais Temperance, P. Harper
    Tredegar, I. Porthouse


    Welsh Regional Championships
    First Section

    Saturday 20th March 2010
    Draw 4:15, commence following 2nd section
    Brangwyn Hall, Swansea
    A Moorside Suite, Gustav Holst
    Adjudicator: Colin Hardy

    Abergavenny Borough, S. Sykes
    City of Cardiff,Mellingriffith, G. Ritter
    Markham and District, N. Seaman
    Parc and Dare, D. Griffith
    Pontadulais Town, P. Jenkins
    Rogerstone, J. Jones
    Wrexham Brass, W. Ruston


    Welsh Regional Championships
    Second Section

    Saturday 20th March 2010
    Draw: 12: 15, commence following 3rd section
    Brangwyn Hall, Swansea
    Kingdom of Dragons, Philip Harper
    Adjudicator: Malcolm Brownbill

    Blaenavon Town, A. Protherough-Jones
    Briton Ferry, Dr. C. Jenkins
    Crosskeys Silver, K. Bowden
    Deiniolen, G. Saynor
    Gwaun Cae Gurwen, G.R. Davies
    Lewis Merthyr, G. Pritchard
    Llanrug, P. Hughes
    Newtown Silver, S. Edwards
    RAF St. Athan Voluntary, A.R. Bourne
    Royal Buckley Town, Paul Lovatt- Cooper
    Tylorstown, G. Davies
    Yynshir, D. Evans


    Welsh Regional Championships
    Third Section

    Saturday 20th March 2010
    Draw: 10:30, commence 11:30
    Brangwyn Hall, Swansea
    Labour & Love, Percy Fletcher
    Adjudicator: Colin Hardy

    Corus, Port Talbot , C. Hogg

    Ebbw Vale, C. Thomas
    Goodwick, M. Jenkins
    Llwydcoed, G. Davies
    Oakeley Silver, J. Davies
    Ogmore Valley, A. Jones


    Welsh Regional Championships
    Fourth Section

    Sunday 21st March 2010
    Draw: 10:00, commence 11:00
    Brangwyn Hall, Swansea
    Saint-Saens Variations, Philip Sparke
    Adjudicator: Colin Hardy

    Abertillery Youth, D. Evans

    Crwbin, M. Thorne
    Mellingriffith 2, D. Griffiths
    Newport Borough, A. Hathaway
    Oakdale, R. Probyn
    Pontypool, P. O’Leary
    Rhyl Silver, M. Robinson
    Ruthin Town, J. Powell
    Upper Rhondda Brass, N. Seaman

  2. looking forward to playing English Heritage, and of course this marks Point of Ayr's return to the championship section, quite an achievment in just over 2 years :)
  3. dyl

    dyl Active Member

    Adjudicator for 2nd Section is Malcolm Brownbill
  4. Di

    Di Active Member

    Cheers Dyl. :):tup
  5. daitom

    daitom New Member

    Yes, great progress! .. It is a superb piece of music to be playing at the top level again!
  6. Euph1888

    Euph1888 New Member

    Any news of runners and riders yet, rumours are a low turnout in the fourth section - Anybody know the Adjudicators in each section
  7. Deano

    Deano Member

    Malcolm Brownbill is adjudicating Championship & 2nd.
    Colin Hardy is adjudicating 1st, 3rd & 4th.

    Heard there are 45 bands in total.
  8. Di

    Di Active Member

    Thank you.
    Details added.

    Any "official" list of bands would be appreciated, just waiting for confirmation on three regions then we can start the prediction ball rolling. :)
  9. Al

    Al Member

    So the Welsh, being titled Welsh Regional Championships presumably aren't as cagey as the Scots who are titled Scottish Area Contest.


    ps I was born in Wales, have played in Scotland for a few years and now play in England, and used to play for an Isle of Man band (which is a country in its own right but are pleased to join the North West Regional Championships!)
  10. PeterBale

    PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

    Fourth Section:
    Sunday 21st March

    Brangwyn Hall, Swansea
    Draw: 10.00am
    Commences: 11.00am
    Adjudicator: Colin Hardy

    1. Crwbin (M. Thorne), 3*
    2. Upper Rhondda Brass (N. Seaman), 7*
    3. Newport Borough (A. Hathaway), 6
    4. Pontypool (P. O'Leary), 9
    5. Mellingriffith 2 (D. Griffiths), 4
    6. Rhyl Silver (M. Robinson), 5
    7. Abertillery Youth (D. Evans), 8
    8. Oakdale (R. Probyn), 1
    9. Ruthin Town (J. Powell), 2

    Best Instrumentalist: Bleddyn Roberts (soprano) Crwbin

    *Top 2 bands qualify for Harrogate

    Courtesy of 4br
  11. brassneck

    brassneck Active Member

    Championship Section:
    Sunday 21st March

    Brangwyn Hall, Swansea
    Draw: 12.00pm
    Commences: starts at end of Section 4
    Adjudicator: Malcolm Brownbill

    1. Tredegar (I. Porthouse), 8
    2. Cory (Dr. R. Childs), 7
    3. Tongwynlais Temperance (P. Harper), 4
    4. BTM (T. Davoren), 10
    5. Northop (T. Wyss), 1
    6. Beaumaris (G. Evans), 2
    7. Cwmaman Institute (C. Roberts), 9
    8. Point of Ayr Colliery (J. Hinckley), 3
    9. Burry Port Town (C. Roberts), 6
    10. Penclawdd Brass (D.A. Small), 5

    Best Instrumentalist: Dewi Griffiths (cornet) Tredegar

    *Top 2 placed bands plus Cory qualify for Finals

  12. dyl

    dyl Active Member

    What a day yesterday!!!! Set off from Deiniolen at 5am, bus broke down twice on the way down, we ended up having to get a replacement bus on the way. Cue frantic phone calss to contest control to inform them of our problems! In the end though, we managed to get to the draw just as the adjudicator was introducing himself!

    Eventually, I thought the band played a blinder, and Gav our MD was extremely happy coming off stage (to say the least!). Very pleased to be going to Harrogate again, and well done Daniel for the best instrumentalist.

    Shattered now though, having just arrived back, but what a weekend!!!
  13. eusebio

    eusebio New Member

    Congrats to Tredegar - Cory not winning doesn't happen very often does it!
  14. jpbray

    jpbray Member

    Well done Newport Borough Brass band a satisfying 3rd. Many thanks to Alun for all his hard work with the Band.
  15. Alyn James

    Alyn James Member

    :terrierYIPPEE!!!:terrier Albert Hall for Ton!
    Didn't hear Cory but Tred were something else!:clap:
  16. OneTonBass

    OneTonBass Member

    Well done Ton. Fantastic result!
  17. OneTonBass

    OneTonBass Member

    The results today have thrown up some interesting ups and downs today especially in championship and 4th section(if my calculations are correct)
    Champ: Penclawdd (25 points) + Newbridge,Burry Port & Cwmamman (all 22points) all go down
    1st: Markham (10 points) go up; Treherbert (26 points) go down
    2nd: Tylorstown (7 points) + Deiniolen (8.5 points ) go up; Ammanford (27.5 points) + Briton Ferry (25 points) go down.
    3rd: Llwydcoed (10.5 points) go up ; Porthaethwy Menai Bridge (23 points) go down
    4th: Upper Rhondda (12 points) + Melingriffith2, Pontypool,Newport,Crwbin (all 13 points) all go up

    Again I suggest you rely on the official notification and subject to appeal etc..not on my say.
  18. Pastit

    Pastit Member

    Congrats to Wrexham Brass on a great performance, especially in the 2nd movement. HERE'S TO THE FINALS. Well done to the winners, Pontardulais.

  19. critic

    critic Member

    Well done a great effort
  20. ne30001

    ne30001 New Member

    Is it really likely that 4 bands will be relegated from the championship section? If not how is it likely to be calculated, obviously Penclawdd will go down but how will the fate of Cwmaman Institute, Burry Port and Newbridge be decided? Cheers