Welsh Open Contest 2010

Discussion in 'The Adjudicators' Comments' started by boover, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. boover

    boover Member

    The 2010 Welsh Open Entertainment Contest takes place at the grand Pavilion in Porthcawl on the 20th February at 12.00pm. There are 12 bands competing.

    Burry Port
    City of Cardiff

    The adjudicator is Mr. David Read MBE

    Great to see a good line up of bands at this contest. Really looking forward to playing as well as listening. The Pavilion is a great venue for this popular contest.
  2. Deano

    Deano Member

    Press Release from Rob Gowing Contest Controller.

    Welsh Open Entertainment Contest 2010

    To be held at The Pavilion, Porthcawl on February 20th, 2010. The contest will start at 12.00pm prompt, there are 2 draws for order of play at 11.00am and 2 pm. There will be an hour comfort break after band 6.

    13 bands have entered the contest, which includes 2 National Champions in Tongwynlais Temperance and City of Cardiff (Melingriffith). We also have 2 bands from England, we welcome back from Gloucester, Lydbrook Band and for the first time we offer a very warm welcome to Staines Brass.
    The other bands entered are the defending champions, BTM, with Tredegar hoping to go 1 better this year having been placed second last year. Abergavenny are also returning to defend their Most Entertaining Band title, along with the Highest Placed band not in the prizes award they won last year.
    Also entered are the current Welsh League Champions, Burry Port. The other bands competing are, Cwmaman, Markham, Pontardulais, Beaumaris, Rogerstone,

    The adjudicator is Mr. David Read MBE, no stranger to the contest having adjudicated 2 years ago.

    Tickets can be pre booked by contacting the booking office at The Pavilion on 01656 815995, ticket prices the same as last year, are, £6 balcony reserved, £5 stalls unreserved.
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  3. ilovespheres

    ilovespheres Member

    Result yet? Or any info!?
  4. boover

    boover Member

    results In reverse order live from the pavillion in porthcawl in 5 mins
  5. ilovespheres

    ilovespheres Member

    Thank You! =)
  6. boover

    boover Member

    youngest player - alex rees tongwynlais
    Best instrumentalist - trombone btm - jon pippen
    Most entertaining band - Staines brass
    highest 1st section band not in prizes - staines brass
    3rd - tongwynlais
    2nd - btm
    1st - Tredegar
    1st -
  7. ilovespheres

    ilovespheres Member

    Well done Tredegar - Full Result!? =)
  8. stopher

    stopher Member

    4th beaumaris. Think Staines were 6th from what I overheard. Also congratulations to Gwyn Owen from Besumaris band on winning the inaugral trophy to help further his musical career - can't remember what it was called now
  9. boover

    boover Member

    1. Tredegar (Ian Porthouse) – 196
    2. BTM (Tom Davoren) – 194
    3. Tongwynlais Temperance (Philip Harper) – 193
    4. Beaumaris (Gwyn Evans) – 191
    5. Lydbrook (Steve Sykes) – 190
    6. Staines Brass (Melvin White) – 189
    7. Pontardulais Town (Paul Jenkins) – 188
    8. Burry Port (Craig Roberts) – 187
    9. Abergavenny Borough (Paul Holland) – 186
    10. City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) (Gareth Ritter) – 185
    11. Markham & District (Nigel Seaman) – 184

    Best Soloist: Jonathan Pippen (BTM)
    Highest Placed 1st Section Band: Staines Brass
    Most Entertaining Stage Presentation: Staines Brass

    courtesy of 4barsest.com
  10. RobBari

    RobBari Member

    bummer. :(

Share This Page