Welsh Conductor of the Year - the Eric James Memorial Trophy

Discussion in 'Bandroom News - User Submitted' started by Alyn James, Nov 22, 2014.

  1. Alyn James

    Alyn James Member

    Welsh Conductor of the Year 2014 - the Eric James Memorial Trophy

    The winner of the Eric James Memorial Trophy for Welsh Conductor of 2014 is Gareth Ritter.

    The idea for the award came from a group of my father’s friends following his death in 1990. My father had expressed the view that, all too often, the hard work of “grass roots” conductors can go largely unrecognised and that an award of some kind might go some way to remedy this. During November each year our group meets to discuss the achievements of Welsh conductors throughout all the sections and choose a recipient for the award.

    This year, in choosing Gareth, we show our appreciation of his wonderful work in guiding Welsh bands to success at the lower section National Finals. Following his recent success with Ebbw Valley Brass we feel it is only a matter of time before he completes the set with a win at the 1[SUP]st[/SUP] Section Final! We also recognize Gareth’s infectious enthusiasm and total commitment in “spreading the word” to youngsters across the principality.

    Our group would like to thank the South East Wales Association for allowing us to make this award at its final contest every year.

    Alyn James

    List of Recipients:

    1992: E.J. CLARK - British Steel (Port Talbot)
    1993: HAYDN EVANS - Pontardulais Town
    1994: BERNARD WILLIAMS - Cwmaman Institute / Blaina
    1995: GERALD ROBERTS - Ammanford Town
    1996: MICHAEL THORNE - Burry Port
    1997: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    1998: C. BRIAN BUCKLEY - Pontardulais Town
    1999: BRYN DAVIES - Blaenavon Town
    2000: ALAN PHILLIPS - Aberystwyth Youth / Schools
    2001: JIM DAVIES - Ammanford Town
    2002: MIKE FARO - Briton Ferry Silver
    2003: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    2004: CRAIG ROBERTS - Parc & Dare
    2005: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen
    2006: ALAN DAVIES - Llwydcoed
    2007: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen
    2008: GWYN EVANS - Beaumaris Band
    2009: GARETH RITTER - City of Cardiff Band
    2010: GARY DAVIES - Tylerstown Band
    2011: DEWI GRIFFITHS - Melingriffith 2
    2012: MATTHEW JENKINS - Goodwick Brass Band
    2013: GARY DAVIES – Tylerstown Band
    2014: GARETH RITTER – City of Cardiff Band
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice