Welsh Conductor of 2011

Discussion in 'Bandroom News - User Submitted' started by Alyn James, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. Alyn James

    Alyn James Member

    The winner of the Eric James Memorial Trophy for Welsh Conductor of 2011 is Dewi Griffiths of Melingriffith 2 Band.

    The idea for the award came from a group of my father’s friends following his death in 1990. My father had expressed the view that, all too often, the hard work of “grass roots” conductors can go largely unrecognised and that an award of some kind might go some way to remedy this. During November each year our group meets to discuss the achievements of Welsh conductors throughout all the sections and choose a recipient for the award.

    This year, in choosing Dewi Griffiths, we applaud the fine leadership skills he demonstrated in successfully guiding M2 through the severe test provided by Henry V at the 4[SUP]th[/SUP] Section National Finals. We also recognise the energy he brings to his ongoing work within the City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) organisation. All this, combined with his demanding playing duties, mean Dewi is a mentor and role model of the highest order.

    As a group we would like to thank the South East Wales Association for allowing us to make this award at its final contest every year.

    Past Recipients:

    1992: E.J. (NOBBY) CLARK - British Steel (Port Talbot)
    1993: HAYDN EVANS - Pontardulais Town
    1994: BERNARD WILLIAMS - Cwmaman Institute / Blaina
    1995: GERALD ROBERTS - Ammanford Town
    1996: MICHAEL THORNE - Burry Port
    1997: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    1998: C. BRIAN BUCKLEY - Pontardulais Town
    1999: BRYN DAVIES - Blaenavon Town
    2000: ALAN PHILLIPS - Aberystwyth Youth / Schools
    2001: JIM DAVIES - Ammanford Town
    2002: MIKE FARO - Briton Ferry Silver
    2003: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    2004: CRAIG ROBERTS - Parc & Dare
    2005: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen
    2006: ALAN DAVIES - Llwydcoed
    2007: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen
    2008: GWYN EVANS – Beaumaris Band
    2009: GARETH RITTER – City of Cardiff Band
    2010: GARY DAVIES – Tylerstown Band
    2011: DEWI GRIFFITHS – Melingriffith 2