Welsh Conductor of 2010 - Gary Davies

Discussion in 'Bandroom News - User Submitted' started by Alyn James, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. Alyn James

    Alyn James Member

    The winner of the Eric James Memorial Trophy for Welsh Conductor of 2010 is Gary Davies of Tylerstown Band.

    The idea for the award came from a group of my father’s friends following his death in 1990. My father had expressed the view that, all too often, the hard work of “grass roots” conductors can go largely unrecognised and that an award of some kind might go some way to remedy this. During November each year our group meets to discuss the achievements of Welsh conductors throughout all the sections and choose a recipient for the award.

    This year, in choosing Gary Davies, we recognise his outstanding achievement in steering Tylerstown Band to the Second Section title at Harrogate. We would also like to congratulate Gary for his success with Llwydcoed Band on the same weekend – September must have been a busy month!

    As a group we would like to thank the South East Wales Association for allowing us to make this award at its final contest every year."

    Past Recipients:

    1992: E.J. CLARK - British Steel (Port Talbot)
    1993: HAYDN EVANS - Pontardulais Town
    1994: BERNARD WILLIAMS - Cwmaman Institute / Blaina
    1995: GERALD ROBERTS - Ammanford Town
    1996: MICHAEL THORNE - Burry Port
    1997: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    1998: C. BRIAN BUCKLEY - Pontardulais Town
    1999: BRYN DAVIES - Blaenavon Town
    2000: ALAN PHILLIPS - Aberystwyth Youth / Schools
    2001: JIM DAVIES - Ammanford Town
    2002: MIKE FARO - Briton Ferry Silver
    2003: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    2004: CRAIG ROBERTS - Parc & Dare
    2005: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen
    2006: ALAN DAVIES - Llwydcoed
    2007: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen

    2008: GWYN EVANS – Beaumaris Band
    2009: GARETH RITTER – City of Cardiff Band
    2010: GARY DAVIES – Tylerstown Band
  2. AngW

    AngW New Member

    Congratulations Gary !!:clap::clap::clap:
  3. impycornet

    impycornet Member

    Massive Congrats to Gary. Very talented bloke.