Welsh Conductor of 2009 - Gareth Ritter

Discussion in 'Bandroom News - User Submitted' started by Alyn James, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. Alyn James

    Alyn James Member

    The winner of the Eric James Memorial Trophy for Welsh Conductor of 2009 is Gareth Ritter of City of Cardiff and Abergavenny Bands.

    The idea for the award came from a group of my father’s friends following his death in 1990. My father had expressed the view that, all too often, the hard work of “grass roots” conductors can go largely unrecognised and that an award of some kind might go some way to remedy this. During November each year our group meets to discuss the achievements of Welsh conductors throughout all the sections and choose a recipient for the award.
    This year, in choosing Gareth Ritter, we recognise the incredible work ethic he has exhibited over the past several years with bands incuuding Goodwick, Abergavenny and City of Cardiff . Gareth oozes enthusiasm from every pore! We also wish to congratulate Gareth for his outstanding achievement in guiding City of Cardiff to the Second Section title at Harrogate.

    As a group we would like to thank the South East Wales Association for allowing us to make this award at its final contest every year.

    Past Recipients:

    1992: E.J. CLARK - British Steel (Port Talbot)
    1993: HAYDN EVANS - Pontardulais Town
    1994: BERNARD WILLIAMS - Cwmaman Institute / Blaina
    1995: GERALD ROBERTS - Ammanford Town
    1996: MICHAEL THORNE - Burry Port
    1997: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    1998: C. BRIAN BUCKLEY - Pontardulais Town
    1999: BRYN DAVIES - Blaenavon Town
    2000: ALAN PHILLIPS - Aberystwyth Youth / Schools
    2001: JIM DAVIES - Ammanford Town
    2002: MIKE FARO - Briton Ferry Silver
    2003: GRAHAM SHEPPARD - Treherbert
    2004: CRAIG ROBERTS - Parc & Dare
    2005: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen
    2006: ALAN DAVIES - Llwydcoed
    2007: PAUL HOLLAND - Newbridge Celynen
    2008: GWYN EVANS – Beaumaris Band
  2. TheMusicMan

    TheMusicMan tMP Founder Staff Member

    I echo my congratulations to Gareth from all here at tMP. Great achievement Gareth, great work.
  3. Cantonian

    Cantonian Active Member

    Well done Gareth. I's a good job Roy Roe wasn't judging you!!!
  4. RobBari

    RobBari Member

    Congratulation Gareth, thoroughly deserved.
  5. BrassFlyer

    BrassFlyer Member

    Well done Gareth, fantastic year for you:clap:
  6. QAD

    QAD Member

    Well done Gareth, joining a great list of MD's there.
    Was it really that long ago when Bernard Williams won it?

Share This Page