Warning for all eBay users

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by JessopSmythe, Apr 5, 2004.

  1. JessopSmythe

    JessopSmythe Active Member

    It's spam time again!

    Keep a look out for an email that looks like this

    Dear eBay member,

    We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your eBay account from a foreign IP address and we have reasons to believe that your account was used by a third party without your authorization. If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual login attempts may have been initiated by you.
    The login attempt was made from:
    IP address:
    ISP Host: cache-66.proxy.aol.com
    By now, we used many techniques to verify the accuracy of the information our users provide us when they register on the Site. However, because user verification on the Internet is difficult, eBay cannot and does not confirm each user's purported identity. Thus, we have established an offline verification system o help you evaluate with who you are dealing with. The system is called ebay PowerSafe and it's the most secure eBay wallet so far.

    If you are the rightful holder of the account, click on the link below, fill the form and then submit as we will verify your identity and register you to ebay PowerSafe.

    If the button doesnÒ‘t appear please click on the link bellow:

    To make eBay.com the most secure site to place or bid on your auctions,every user will be registered to PowerSafe.
    If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporally suspend your account.

    Do not click the link. This message is not from ebay!. Any messages from ebay will always include your user name. Not to mention the fact that ebay messages, usually, contain slightly better grammar than this one.

    Don't forget, usual internet rules. Don't submit any sensitive info unless you're sure you're on a secure site.
  2. TheMusicMan

    TheMusicMan tMP Founder Staff Member

    Cheers JS... useful information indeed. Thanks.
  3. PeterBale

    PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

    There's another similar one going round threatening to suspend the account if you don't resubmit all your details, including credit cards etc.

    To the unsuspecting, it looks genuine, and warns as well that you would be barred from opening any other accounts on ebay. As has already been said, don't be caught out, and NEVER submit sensitive information without being certain it is on a secure system.
  4. Bryan_sop

    Bryan_sop Active Member

    I've had this one several times and reported it to ebay. It does look very real!
  5. 2nd man down

    2nd man down Moderator Staff Member

    Our IT dept has sent round an email this morning warning about a similar scam email supposedly from Barclays bank. Barclays have said they do not send emails of this sort EVER and any received should be ignored completely.
  6. tubatu

    tubatu Member

    There are similar emails from both Lloyds TSB and Halifax Bank, both scams. :evil:
  7. Dave Euph

    Dave Euph Member

    Thanks, although if a company/website was asking for me to supply information that I'd already given them through registration I'd probably ignore it ... saying that, that is a pretty good scam ...