Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by sugarandspice, Sep 24, 2004.

1. sugarandspice

sugarandspice Active Member

Right, i've spent all afternoon sifting through the ucas site and i think i've decided on some of the uni's im going to apply for. however when i go away to uni i want to continue playing, either in a brass band or with in the music department or preferably both!!
    so if anyone has anything to say about the music departments for these uni's it would help me a lot (might actually be able to limit it down to 6!!)

Law&Criminology- Cardiff, Portsmouth, and keele
    Law- Cardiff, Bristol, Bristol UWE, Bangor, Aberystwyth, nottingham trent, reading, and keele
  2. Suz

Suz Member

I am a librarian for Cardiff Uni (not law but same building as law library!), no brass band here but there are lots of other musical activities at the Uni as it has a strong music department. There are a few local brass bands, Tongwynlais, BTM, Radyr and Morganstown and all the bands in the Rhondda.

Solo Trom
    BTM Band
  3. postie

postie Member

Hi two of our ex players went to the law school in Nottingham unfortunatly there is no actual music department that I am aware of at Nottingham Trent. Nottingham Uni has quite a big music department with plenty going on. You do have a bit of a choice over brass bands in Nottingham, obviously I am biased towards my band but you also have Carlton, Nottingham City Transport, and Long Eaton in the city boundaries. Just outside you have got Newstead, Kirkby, and Shirebrook. But I see you have plenty of options where to go to so good luck.

Richard Greenwood
    Treasurer & PR Officer
    Bestwood Black Diamonds
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2004
  4. strongbow

strongbow Member

What's wrong with Manchester? Plenty of bands within the area I'm sure would welcome you with open arms.
  5. lynchie

lynchie Active Member

Quick plug -> I think they do law at Warwick... I've got my first uni band practice on Wednesday!
  6. sugarandspice