Tuning while accompanying bagpipes

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by arctichorn, Feb 12, 2004.

1. arctichorn

arctichorn New Member

Hello Folks, :D
    I'm new to this forum, and it looks very interesting. I've been a French horn player for many years in both wind bands & orchestras here in the U.S. (I was born in England). I don't know if this is the appropriate forum for this question, but here goes anyway.

I am in a brass quintet (2 trpt, 1 horn, 1 tuba, 1 euphonium), which is playing a piece with a local pipe band. Although I am a piping student myself, I have not yet attempted to put brass & pipes together, and am very concerned about the tuning. Does anyone on the forum have experience and/or advice they could share about this issue?

As the concert where we will be performing is primarily a pipe band concert, the pipers have no time to change their tuning to something closer to us, so we have to come up to them. The first C trumpet part is written rather high without having to lip it up, and that's what's mainly concerning me. Help!

If anyone is interested, the piece we are playing is an arrangement of Hector the Hero, and can be found on the Denver Brass website: www.denverbrass.org The piece is available in brass ensemble or quintet arrangements. It's a gorgeous tune, and I highly recommend it if you'd like to try something different!

Thanks much for any help you can give.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Hello Folks
    :D
    French
    brass quintet
    appropriate forum
  3. Kerwintootle

Kerwintootle Member

Hello and welcome to the forum.

My band (Scottish Co-op Band) have played several items with bagpipes and the tuning didn't seem to be a problem. The leader would tune with us on the chanter then he in turn would tune up with his piper people. If it's with a soloist then of course it's easier.

Good luck. Hope it goes well.

Alex

4. Wonky_Baton

Wonky_Baton Active Member