Tuning Slides

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Bassintheballroom, Apr 5, 2005.

1. Bassintheballroom

Bassintheballroom New Member

How does one go about telling a colleague that they're using the wrong slide as a tuning slide?

In my new (3rd section) band one of the bass players who I sit with is always sharp. Over a few weeks I noticed that whenever we're tuning she claims her slide is all the way out but she's still sharp. At the last rehearsal I watched what she was doing and she's using the 4th valve slide instead, while the tuning slide is all the way in. I'm a bit concerned about just saying something because I'm new to the band and I think she feels threatened with me being there. What's the best approach to take?

:confused:

2. Keppler

Keppler Moderator Staff Member

ask for a shot of the instrument in a casual way, and fiddle with it. Maybe this person will notice what you're doing?

3. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

... get one of the bass team to slap her wrists! ;)

4. Straightmute

Straightmute Active Member

You show remarkable sensitivity for a bass player! Have a quiet word with the MD.

D

5. impycornet

impycornet Member

I didn't think tuning slides moved on Basses ??

6. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

Harrrr ! .... life can be cruel sometimes! But playing an instrument and not knowing the location of tuning slides? I wonder what her general tuning is like when she uses the 4th valve? Ouch factor of 10!!

7. Straightmute

Straightmute Active Member

Was at a rehearsal once when a cornet player was told he was slightly flat. "Shall I push in or push out?" quoth he. "Nay lad" the conductor responded, "push off".

D

8. Sharpy

Sharpy Member

Cant believe your MD hasn't noticed shes using the wrong tuning slide!! I think you need to tell her, gently of course!!!

9. 2nd man down

2nd man down Moderator Staff Member

LMAO!! :clap:

I'm sure they wouldn't mind if you gently pointed it out to either them or their MD.