Tuning slide on a euphonium

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by benjaminuk, Aug 9, 2009.

1. benjaminuk

benjaminuk Member

Where is the tuning slide on a euphonium? because i have been playing for 10 years and was told it was the slide on the back of the euphonium. However, the conductor at my brass band said it was the one on the front of the euphonium in the right hand side as you look at the euphonium. Which one is correct?

2. Hells Bones

Hells Bones Active Member

Easy way to find out.

pull one of the slides all the way out and play a note. If you get a duff noise, that's the tuner.

If you can play a note on open but not on 4th (I'm guessing it usually the 4th people get mixed up with) it's your 4th.

3. winterman

winterman Member

Apparently, I was always told it was the big one at the back (which seems to be attached to the 4th), but some people have said the front.. but having never moved either (faked it) and just blown again it seems to come right! Don't know why though?!

4. benjaminuk

benjaminuk Member

Me myself, backed up by numerous others, say that the back one is the right one (this is the one i was told it was from day 1), and its only lately that I have been told differently by our conductor.

5. Hells Bones

Hells Bones Active Member

Yes, it's always been the back one on every euph I have played.

Did you try my suggestion?

6. Blagger

Blagger Member

The one with a water key - never seen a 4th valve tuning slide have one - yet ;)

7. benjaminuk

benjaminuk Member

thats what i thought, thought it was odd being told the 4th value slide has a water key! ;)

8. Blagger

Blagger Member

Tell him you know your own Euph :p - deffo never seen a water key on a 4th valve - would be pretty pointless.

9. I have seen the tuning slide on the front on some brands, but it was usually on a front action, or a three valved instrument. On the Besson it is on the back, and if the director argues, tell him I am looking at mine as I type this.