Trombones

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by sugarandspice, Apr 17, 2005.

1. sugarandspice

sugarandspice Active Member

Right, before we start i want to make it clear that the Euphonium is my first love, and nothing is ever going to change that!......but i started learning the trombone on thursday, and even if i do say so myself, im starting to get quite good! :)

At the mo im learning on an old band one, which isn't that great, and the slide doesnt really slide that well! But if all goes according to plan i would like to get my own.......will have to if i want to play at uni, which i intend to!

So i guess im just after some advice really, which is a good make of trom? is there any make i should steer clear of? how much do i need to spend to get a fairly decent one?........and whats a Bb/F trom all about?!!!

not sure if you have noticed but i know nothing about trombones!!......but i do know all the postions now....and i have played everything in the book i've got!!.....not bad for 2 days! (am alternating practice between trom and euph!) (and im learning bass clef at the same time cos i have no intention of playing my trom in a brass band!!.....want to play jazz and orchestral stuff)

would appreciate any help!

kelly xxx

2. Red Elvis

Red Elvis Active Member

Also took up Trom fairly late on to complement (or not , depending on who was listening!) my euph playing.