Trombone sound

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by The Wherryman, Mar 12, 2008.

1. The Wherryman

The Wherryman Active Member

"For example, the trombone sound of bands is more symphonic nowadays than pre-80s. Certain players must have come into or through banding that helped change the way that instrument is played."

I saw this in the "Pioneers" thread and it got me thinking. I'm rather new to contesting (and this forum), so forgive me if this has been thrashed out before, but I play 2nd trombone on a large bore instrument (YSL-681B) because that is what I was advised to get by my then tutor.

Is it desirable that the trombone sound in brass bands should be symphonic or does that create just too much contrast with the brighter instruments? Should I be thinking of changing to a medium or medium/large bore instrument?

The balance of the section would obviously be altered and my MD might well have something to say about that, but general comments would be appreciated.
  2. Vegasbound

Vegasbound Active Member

With Trombones, you have to fit inwith what the section use.

I have said on other threads that a .525 horn i.e bach 36 is ideal for brass band as it is large enough for the straight work but you can then blend for the "PoP"/swing number

another point as troms sound so much better in 4's (listen to any Nelson Riddle arangement) why do brass bands only have 3??
  3. Gorgie boy

Gorgie boy Member

You will find that much of the Salvation Army repertoire has almost constant use of 4 trombone parts (certainly at the top end of the repertoire). This is done by writing two parts on the first trombone stave.
  4. Martin Cordy

Martin Cordy Member

as already mentionted the overall sound of the section is crucial. Generally all brass bands use large bore instruments as they provide a warm mellow sound when used at medium to low range dynamics, but given the straightness of the instrument will still cut through as required at higher volumes.