Trombone mouthpieces

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by B.Portas, Apr 2, 2014.

1. B.Portas

B.Portas Member

Hi there,

I acquired an old, used trombone last year for a birthday present and being an Eb bass player, the mouthpiece is pretty small for me, compared to the bucket sized tuba gob irons available. I used to play baritone and euphonium, but the mouthpiece is a copy of a 12C (a lot smaller than the mouthpieces I used to use), so my question is...what is the largest, small bore mouthpiece available?

I'm a very basic beginner, working my way around a new instrument for a laugh, so as long as its massive, I'll be happy, as it won't be too drastic a change from playing tuba and will help relieve stress from my top lip, which has a lump of hard scar tissue in it, preventing me playing very small mouthpieces.

If anyone has any they have to sell, that would be helpful too!

2. 2nd tenor

2nd tenor Active Member

As you know trombone mouthpieces come in two different shank sizes, and you are looking for a small rather than large shank. As I recall Wick's 4BS is about the largest small shank available. Bach also list some large rim small shank mouthpieces. The 12c is typically for begineers and jazz players. Bach's 6 1/2 AL and Wicks 6BS are popular trombone pieces that are easy enough to get hold of second hand and might well suit an ex baritone and euphonium player. Hope that helps
  3. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

One that is slightly narrower but also has a reasonable cup on it is the Bach 5G small shank - but make sure you get that, and not a 5G large shank (won't fit) or a 5GS ('S' stands for shallow - easily confused with the Denis Wick nomenclature, where it stands for small shank). Bach confusingly label both large and small shank versions of the same mouthpiece with the same label.