Trombone accessory advice

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by jrshimmon, Apr 14, 2009.

1. jrshimmon

jrshimmon Member

I'm looking for some advice on trombone accessories. I'm playing trombone at the moment, although I'm not very good at it, but I was landed with it in band just over a year ago. The instrument I've been given is a bit of a state to be honest, with a lot of problems that a decent service should fix, but one thing a service won't fix is that the laquer is worn off, just where you hold it with your left hand- result, a green hand! Does anyone know where (in the uk) I can get hold of something to protect this area? I'm looking for different suggestions if possible, as I'd rather not just settle for the first thing I find!

Thanks in advance for your help!

(I'm actually Corrine not John, just to let you know! I'm the one with the brains!;))
  2. Hells Bones

Hells Bones Active Member

Unfortunately, all the hand guards and grips that I know of are from America and are ****** expensive to get shipped over.

If you speak to Chris at, tell them exactly what you need and they will do what they can to get hold of one for you.

What kind of Trom do you have?
  3. Dick Bone

Dick Bone New Member

I was advised at college to paint the unlaquered area with clear nail varnish. That did the trick but be careful not to handle it too soon afterwards!!
  4. flugelgal

flugelgal Active Member

Great idea! I was about to suggest buying some cotton gloves! That way it's not your hands that get the green stuff, but the nail varnish could be the winner.
  5. Bass Trumpet

Bass Trumpet Active Member

Buy some soap :biggrin:
  6. lynchie

lynchie Active Member

A glove seems like the obvious solution.
  7. Accidental

Accidental Supporting Member

I've seen a couple of people use bike handlebar tape...
  8. The clear nail polish will do it. A can of clear lacquer will do the same. It's best to clean the area first.
  9. BrotherBone

BrotherBone Member