triggers on euphoniums

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by pocket euphonium90, May 21, 2006.

1. Hi everyone! I play a sterling virtuoso euph, and am thinking of having a trigger fitted on it. Can anyone tell me how successful they are on this instrument, or if not, how successful they are on euphs in general. Has anyone heard any good/bad reports. I don't want to spend money if it's going to be wasted!:confused:
    Any advice would be welcomed :p
    Thanks

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    thinking
    sterling virtuoso euph
    bad reports
    triggers
    euphoniums
  3. Steve

Steve Active Member

They are a great piece of kit, as long as you know how to use them. Obviously anything that gives you extra control over intonation is an advantage but dont expect having one fitted to resolve all your intonation problems. It is a tool and not a cure.

Also, where are you intending on getting the trigger from?

I have no knowledge of them on sterlings and have never tried the sterling, this is more a general thought on triggers on other euphs.

4. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

5. im probably gonna get the trigger from the manufactorer who made my euph, Hes spent a while working on developing one that works but i was just interested to know any experiences people have had with them

6. Seedhouse

Seedhouse Active Member

Steve Mead started off with a prototype from Japan, and as your probably well aware has now been fitted to be standard with the Prestige range of instruments. As Steve (tMP) said, triggers are a great tool for helping with intonation, but it'd be hard in band situations if you trigger a note, whilst the other Euph (who doesn't have a trigger!) suddenly sticks out like a sore thumb! As a soloist of course it's great, and i'd rather have one than not- it's there for when your soloing, but i've definately found it has it's pro's and con's in a band situation.