Transfering music from iPod to new Mac... advice please?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by TheMusicMan, Apr 21, 2007.

1. TheMusicMan

TheMusicMan tMP Founder Staff Member

Hi All

I have just got myself a new toy - a shiny new MacBook, and I want to use this as my music PC. All my music files are currently synce'd to my iPod from my Dell Laptop and I now want to transfer all the music currently on my iPod onto my MacBook.

Does anyone have experience of this and perhaps a set of easy to follow instructions so I don't lose any of my music files in the process?

As the iPod is not paired with the MacBook currently, is it simply a question of popping the iPod to a USB port on the Mac and hey presto! Everything else on the Mac seems to be soooo easy to do... is this the same.

I am a total noob to the world of Mac's and so am hoping someone here with such experience may be able to help.

2. BrotherBone

BrotherBone Member

Last edited: Apr 21, 2007
  3. johnmartin

johnmartin Active Member

You can't "normally" take tunes from your iPod to the computer, Apple have deliberately disabled that feature. If you try to sync your iPod to the MacBook with an empty library it will erase the iPod. having said that there is software available to allow this to be done. My personal favourite is Anapod CopyGear from RedChair software.

If the iTunes library is still on the Dell then why not simply burn it to a DVD (or several depending on size), or network the two computers, and then import the tunes to the MacBook. You don't mention if these are MP3 tracks or Apple AAC format. if they are MP3 then no problem, if they are AAC then you will have to authorise the MacBook to use them.
  4. euphfanhan

euphfanhan Member

5. NeilW

NeilW Member

Can you just "see" the music files on an iPod (don't know - haven't got one!).

If so, just copy them to your iMac. If not, you'll have to copy them from the PC....