Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by brassed_off, Oct 1, 2007.

1. brassed_off

brassed_off Member

How soon after a tonsillectomy should I be able to play again?

I'm 24 so I know it's gonna hurt! Especially as they make you eat toast and rough stuff. There goes my Ben and Jerry's diet. :mad:

My main concern is that the doctor told me it might be in October and I'm due to play at Leicester and Leamington contests at the end of November. :confused:

Any one been through it recently?
  2. rcalvert20

rcalvert20 Member

Hey there,

I had a tonsillectomy in 2004 (when i was 21) just as i started my 1st year at birmingham conservatoire doing music! I started playing again after 2 weeks which wasn't bad going. I still had to take it easy but everyones healing rate is different!

Just take all the advice the Dr will give you and try not to be round anyone with a cold as that will put back your recovery! (I cheated a little and carried on with the ben and jerrys but that was only a reward for eating toast, ouch!!)

Anyway, hope that helps and good luck! It will be worth it in the end!!

3. sparkling_quavers

sparkling_quavers Active Member

I had my tonsils out last year when I was 26. You are right, it hurts!! The worst bit is not actually the pain though, it is when it all scabs over and then the scabs come off. That is really awful!! I am just posting this to make you feel better hehe. I was back playing again after about 2 weeks. It is definately worth getting it done though. It might of been unpleasant, but I haven't had any problems since.
  4. Aardvark

Aardvark Member

I had my tonsils out in the Xmas break in my first year at London College of Music. Came out on the Friday and played a concert on the Sunday night. Didn't do any damage, but probably wasn't the best idea. :oops: I did take it quite easy for a week or so after that though.

And yes, the worst bit is the scabbing over (or more to the point, when the scabs come off - yuk)
  5. Silver Horn