Tonic Solfa for Brass?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Manx Music Girl, Apr 6, 2005.

1. Manx Music Girl

Manx Music Girl New Member

Hi

I'm not a brass musician, but I am working on a large scale music databasing/archiving project on the Isle of Man. I recently found some rare MS bands parts from around 1900-1910, but they are all in tonic solfa - even the original scores.

Can anyone tell me if it is usual to use solfa for brass music? I was kind of under the impression that it was mainly for singers.

Any info would be greatly received.

Thanks

2. brasscrest

brasscrest Active Member

First I've ever heard of actual brass parts being written in solfa.

We have some idiosyncracies in our notation (tubas in treble clef, things like that), but not anything like parts in solfa.

A full score in solfa must be really hard for the conductor to follow!

3. Cornishwomble

Cornishwomble Active Member

OK I'll be the one brave enough to say it,

What the hell is Solfa? I've never heard of it, if someone can enlighten me then that would be great. (And I'm sure I'm not the only one ;) )

4. brasscrest

brasscrest Active Member

Solfa (or solfege) is a system of writing music using the "do, re, mi" indications instead of the normal staff. It was extensively used in vocal music. For example, the SA vocal publication printed both standard notation and solfa in its Musical Salvationist series up until (if I remember correctly) around 1980.

5. Will the Sec

Will the Sec Active Member

I've been going through Fulham's large library, and can say that a lot of sing a long numbers from pre war, and where lyircs are shown on the Solo Cornet Conductorthe tonic solfa notation is shown as well.

I've not come across n arrangement only in tonic solfa - makes little sense to me.

Can you post a word file with a scan of an example in?

6. horn1

horn1 Member

Sounds interesting though! Would be good to have a look at!

7. Manx Music Girl

Manx Music Girl New Member