To tongue or not to tongue

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Chris Lee, Nov 8, 2011.

1. Chris Lee

Chris Lee Member

To avoid any misunderstanding, we are talking about playing the Tuba here ....
    I started playing Eflat Bass in a brass band environment and understood that good strong tonguing is essential to produce a good clean note. (Arban: "In blowing, it is necessary to always articulate the syllable Tu...") But I am told discourages this and encourages 'breathing' the note (or very soft tonguing) unless it is specifically staccato or, say, a series of fast quavers. So from treating tonguing as the norm and breathing the note as the exception for use in legato passages, it seems that breathing notes is the norm and tonguing used only for staccato and fast passages.
    Before you say it: yes, of course I recognise that they are many shades of grey in between the two approaches - but what's your preferred technique?

Chris Lee
    Newbieish EEflat Bass. Besson Sovereign
  2. bassmittens

bassmittens Member

Kind of agree with your tutor in many ways. The moving valves do so much in defining the start of notes for you. I used to use very little/or a very 'low impact' tongue in normal playing passages that us Basses get.

Of course when it comes to accents, rhythmic passages, and fast short playing for example then you have no choice.

I guess everyone will have their own way of playing that suits them. Listen to other peoples styles, techniques and "habits" and try them out for yourself to see what suits. What suited me may not suit you (it worked for me.................but that's probably just cos i'm odd!)

Good Luck!
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  3. Chris Lee

Chris Lee Member

Thx for this response BM. In your experience is this specifically relevant to the lower instruments rather than the top end, where I'd have thought that breathing a note must be nigh on impossible?

Very Best, Chris
  4. euph77

euph77 Member

Hi Chris,