tMP Exclusive Interview with Mark Unsworth

Discussion in 'WOM Interviews' started by Jan H, Aug 8, 2006.

1. Jan H

Jan H Moderator Staff Member

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]tMP Exclusive Interview with Mark Unsworth [/FONT]
    [FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]Webmaster – East Yorkshire Motor Services Brass Band[/FONT]

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]By way of an introduction, could you please tell us a little about yourself?[/FONT]
    A driver by profession, although the Band sometimes seem to take up my time with my job becoming a hobby! I work for a gas company supplying all sorts of cylinders, propane, butane and most importantly for bandsman - cellar gas to keep the beer flowing. The first instrument I played was the violin, managing to turn professional at the tender age of five - my Dad paid me to give it up! Started on the trombone at age 11. Served eight years in the Army, and then did the GDBM course at Salford, followed by a PGCE at the University of Durham, moving back to my home city of Hull in 1999. Currently single, but with two trombones, a King 4B 24 years old, and a Conn 8H only 3 months.

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]Are you actively involved in playing a brass instrument with any band, or do you simply undertake the web design on behalf of a band? [/FONT]
    I play Solo Trombone with the East Yorkshire Motor Services Brass Band, regularly play with a local big band, and help other bands out when asked, if I'm available. After my 119 gigs last year I'm trying to cut down a little, but guess that I'm what you call actively involved.

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]How long have you been involved in web design how did you first get involved in it?[/FONT]
    Since 2002 when I started the Band site as a complete novice.

[FONT=Tahoma, sans-serif]Do you manage/run any other web sites, if so, which ones?[/FONT]
    No, one is enough - I'm the Band Treasurer too, and I like to sleep sometimes!