tMP Exclusive Interview with Chris Leonard - Webmaster – Derwent Brass

Discussion in 'WOM Interviews' started by Di, Apr 2, 2007.

1. Di

Di Active Member

tMP Exclusive Interview with Chris Leonard
    Webmaster – Derwent Brass

By way of an introduction, could you please tell us a little about yourself. Are you actively involved in playing a brass instrument with any band, or do you simply undertake the web design on behalf of a band?
    My name is Chris Leonard & I designed & built the web site for Derwent Bass. I’m 23 years old and I play solo cornet for Derwent Brass, 3rd man down. Before joining Derwent Brass I was principal cornet at Youth Brass 2000 and Hathern ‘B’ Band.

How long have you been involved in web design, and how did you first get involved in it?
    I’ve always had an interest in design and my A level studies were biased in this direction. Following sixth form I completed a diploma in art and design at Loughborough University, (including an extension program in Photoshop and digital photography), before doing the 1st year of a Graphic Communication degree course also at LUSAD. I’ve done quite a bit of ‘graphic art design’ work for the band, the last 2 CD covers were designed by me and I usually design the posters, publicity board, etc. I first designed the Derwent site back in 2001 and since then I’ve also created some other sites on recommendation for friends businesses. I also worked as a website designer before university, the sole webmaster for one site and working alongside another company to develop a database driven version for their sister company.

Do you manage/run any other web sites, if so, which ones?
    Currently I have no involvement in any other web sites.

What applications did you use to build your site and why did you choose these?