Timp sticks

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Sonny Barker, May 9, 2006.

1. Sonny Barker

Sonny Barker Member

Hi everyone!

I need some advice. Which timp sticks are the best for all round playing? I'm a self-taught drummer, with no formal training, but my conductor is asking me to play the timps more. The choice is wide and my experience is narrow.

Any makes or types I should be looking for?

2. drummerboy

drummerboy Member

Might I suggest Chalklin mallets. Not too pricey, and they have a nice feel to them. Probably the best timp sticks I've used. I'd go for a pair of the hard mallets for now, as you can get both subtley and power from them.
    They are pretty common, though if you don't have a local music shop that stocks them, try http://www.bellperc.com/fsbell.htm
    They have excellent delivery and keep pretty much everything in stock.
    Feel free to PM me if you need any more advice.

3. MarkGillatt

MarkGillatt Member

I'd agree with the above. I think Chalkin do a junior series or something like that with a narrower stick, they have "borrowed" from Dave Morbey but without the £80 price tag. If not the symhonic series are OK. I would personally go for a medium stick if you are buying just the one pair.

Mark Gillatt
    Percussion Frickley South Elmsall and for 1 week only Carlton Main Frickley Colliery at Grand Shield

4. tinytimp

tinytimp Member

Again I agree with the above posts. When I first started playing percussion my teacher told me to get some Vic Firth 'staccato' sticks - they're a good all-round pair that are soft enough for quiet passages/rolls etc but they still give quite an attack if you need it. You can get them from Bell Percussion or JaM Percussion. Give one of them a call anyway, I've always found them quite helpful, as I still don't really know what I'm doing!

5. Timpking

Timpking Member

Try Smith Mallets only available from ebay I think.