The Plantagenets - Edward Gregson

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by MoominDave, Apr 28, 2004.

1. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

Is this piece intended to portray anything specific?
  2. I can't remember exactly but it has some very interesting program notes...
  3. Lauradoll

Lauradoll Active Member

From what I can remember it's meant to portray the Judges of an ancient court of Plantagenet. I've got the programme notes at home from my brass band history lectures when I was a student, it no other BOC posts them 1st, I'll do it when I get home!

Great piece!
  4. aimee_euph

aimee_euph Member

it's about kings & queens or something?
  5. BassBlaster

BassBlaster Member

I always thought it was about the planets when I was lical :oops: .
    But when I growed up I found it was all about those famous plantagents.
  6. Boneman

Boneman Member

The Plantagenets were the royal family who ruled over the country for about 350 years from a bout 1150 onwards.
    The first Plantagent king was Henry II (my faviourite monarch) and many great kings were from the plantagent family including,
    Richard I (Richard the Lionheart)
    Edward I (Edward Longshanks)
    Edward III
    Edward the Black Prince (our first Prince of Wales)

Out of interest another famous Plantagent that banders may have heard of was John O'Gaunt.

In the main they were a fierce bunch, who enjoyed fighting the French and the Scots and seemed to be constantly at war! However they introduced and developed many benefits for this country including the legal system, schools, development of Parliment, orders of chivalry to name but a few!

The name plantagent comes from their ancestors wearing a blooming flower (Planta Genista). During their own time they were not refered to as the Plantagenets, this came later in history.
  7. eckyboy

eckyboy Member

I'm embaressed to admit I hav'nt a clue what its about as I continually harp on about it being my all time favourite :oops: