The Pitfalls of Progression

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by JesTperfect!, Dec 5, 2007.

1. JesTperfect!

JesTperfect! Member

I play for my Youth Band (Principle Cornet) and for my Senior Band (Second Cornet, Championship Section) and am beginning to think it's time to give up one or the other.

I'm in my 2nd year of college, studying for 5 a levels, have a part time job, play for my county youth band & the NYBBGB........I'm beginning to struggle with four rehearsals a week, plus a sectional, plus 2 private lessons, PLUS various engagements. It's leaving me precious little time to breathe, let alone study!

If I'm honest, I'm starting to feel like I've out-grown the youth band (having been there 10years, I sometimes feel about 46 years old sat on the end!), and am considering leaving the youth band and concentrating on championship level banding.

However, I'm worried that in leaving behind a solo cornet line and only playing 2nd cornet that my ability/higher register will be comprosmised.

Any thoughts/experiences/advise?
    Would all be greatly appreciated!

2. DaveR

DaveR Active Member

Inevitably, there will come a time when you will outgrow the youth band. I shouldn't worry too much about your upper register - if you are practicing regularly you can work on that privately! You shouldn't notice too much difference I don't think.

Sounds to me like you're making the right decision. :tup

3. Gig

Gig Member

Hi

'only' second cornet is the wrong way of looking at the position. You ask the 2nd cornet players of Dyke, Cory etc. Remember a band is only as good as it's worst player and it is not good practice having all you worse players on the back row, especially with some more enlightend composers/arrangers around at the moment.