The New Generation

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Ozzielover, Nov 13, 2013.

1. Ozzielover

Ozzielover New Member

This is a shout out to all you lovely blowers...

I am a new brass tutor and am trying to set up a small brass band in a local school, i am appealing for a little helping hand:

We have managed to get a grant that has enabled us to buy 22 old instruments, Larks, Lafleurs and Jupiters. My problem is that they have all been allocated and we still have 40 children signed up on the waiting list..
    I am hoping that someone out there will have an old instrument or 2 not being used, that you wouldn't mind renting out or loaning to some very enthusiastic children.....i know its a big ask, but its always worth a question eh?
    Also any help with teaching books,or methods, music to excite them or any information on concerts and trips out that would be beneficial to them would be gratefully recieved..

I am setting this up in conjunction with a music teacher friend of mine, we started playing together in Perscoran Brass Band at the age of 10, and now in our mid thirties we are hoping to help and encourage some new young minds to love and feel the brass band movement like we do, in the hope they will keep our beautiful music going on for generations to come.

Any help at all, in what ever form, will be massively appreciated,
    thankyou all for reading.

2. trumpetmike

trumpetmike Active Member

Good for you and Good Luck!

For some simple arrangements, I would strongly suggest checking out Pennine Music Press - especially the Brass Monkeys series -

Some excellent, fairly simple, arrangements and original tunes for beginner band. I have used them with my beginner brass ensemble and they have really enjoyed them. Their solution regarding photocopying is SUPERB as well (ALL other publishers could learn from them!).