The Famous C.W.S Manchester Band

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by tuba1974, Jan 30, 2009.

1. tuba1974

tuba1974 Member

Does any memories of the Famous Manchester C.W.S Band,
    The only ones I have are, Going to see them at tomorden Town Hall in about 1973 I think, Alex Mortimer coming on to conduct a couple of items, I think derick Garside was the conductor but not 100%, the other one being,
    the tetley contest held in leeds town hall I think about 1984, i also think the band was called the city of manchester band,
    As a bus driver I drive though Manchester twice a day and when i drive past the COOP buildings i often wonder, Why we had to loose this great band. :rolleyes:

2. John Brooks

John Brooks Well-Known Member

I heard CWS (Manchester) twice. Once on a London bandstand and the other time in Canada. Unfortunately neither concert was representative of this great band. The bandstand concert was a typical romp through a bunch of light music and was without the energy, concentration etc. that you would find in a concert hall etc.

They came to Canada in 1972 and by then the band was already into it's demise. Derek Garside was conducting and it was very apparent that things were not good. The deportment of some showed a complete disrespect for the MD with several players sitting with their legs crossed and one or two even slouching in their seats as well.

I do have some of their recordings in my collection and, for me, the absolute stunner is their performance of The Force of Destiny at the RAH; inho that single performance far exceeded any of their studio recordings.

I agree, in their day they were a great and very exciting band.

3. rikster

rikster New Member

I saw the massed bands evening concert in 1968 at the RAH , Derek Garside played Facilita accompanied by (I think) his wife on piano, brilliant performance, as were the massed bands that night. As a 15 year old not long into playing, it was truly motivating.

4. ian perks