The East Anglian Youth Brass Band

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Cornet_player, May 13, 2014.

1. Cornet_player

Cornet_player Member

Hi,

I am working on a new project and really need some support. I have played in bands since childhood and most certainly now have the banding 'bug' (I am currently doing a PhD with Brass Bands being my area of interest) lots of you will have seen me over the last 12 months or so at various competitions and events 'colouring pictures' and loads of you have taken time to chat with me about it which has been great and is SO appreciated.

HOWEVER, another project that I am working on is setting up the East Anglian Youth Brass Band. Many of the 'local' bands in East Anglia are village bands and do not contest and are increasingly finding themselves short of players- particularly young people. Whilst 'youth projects' have been tried these seem to be largely unsuccessful and as a teacher the young people I have spoken to see banding as 'for old men' and the kids don't like being 'the only young one in the band'. The East Anglian Youth Brass Band concept is simple. Young people (up to age 18) can come to us, have basic tuition free of charge and play in the band with other like minded people. The band is not restrictive by location (if players want to travel to us they are quite welcome) and the idea is that once the young people are comfortable with the banding environment or as they get older they have the skills in place to transition into the existing bands around the community. This project is not about rivalry or being revolutionary, it is intended to support the community that already exists and get more young people enjoying playing in brass bands.