The correct method of playing the euphonium

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by brassfanatic, Jun 14, 2009.

1. brassfanatic

brassfanatic Member

Some of the finest euphonium players in the UK come on this site, so I thought make a post requesting some tips.

Firstly, I'm 19, and play second euph in a 4th section band (yikes). I've been playing for about 7/8 years, around 6 on the euph.

I practice approx. 3-4 times a week, including band rehearsal (once a week). I'd say my tone is the highlight of my euph playing, fairly sweet.

I wonder if any of you fellow bandsmen could express your views on:

1. how I can improve my technique, what I should be doing when I'm practicing at home etc.
    2. the use of vibrato, is it necessary, when should it should'nt it be applied?
    3. How can I learn to double/triple tongue, I can just about bluff double tonguing.
    4. And, finally most importantly, volume. I haven't got the puff to blow really loud and fill the instrument. How can I apply that technique of blowing from the stomach?
    5. One last thing (this proves I'm a real amateur), I end every rehearsal/practice session with a big mouthpiece stamp on my lip: this means I'm shoving my jaw too far down the mouthpiece, but I can't pitch those high notes without it etc??
    Euph solos I can play include:

Blaydon Races
    Facilita (not the last variation)
    Grandfather's Clock (just about, again last variation wobbly)
    Horowitx Euph Concerto, mvmt. 1,2
    can think of any more of recent, but the usual "Softly As You Leave Me" style tone orientated ones.

Thanks, if any of you can answer at least one of my questions and offer advise on what I should be doing to become a decent player, I would appreciate it grately.

2. With all that you have asked, I would like to commend you as a serious student of the instrument, but the best advice I could give with the breadth of levels, is to find a good teacher, and begin private lessons.

3. DMBabe